sleazenation.blogg.se

This is the new Home of Sleaze Nation !!!

Crosson - 2018 - Invincible

Kategori: Recension

 
 
  1. Rock Warriors
  2. Never Give Up
  3. Success Needs No Apologies
  4. Hero
  5. Unconditional Love
  6. Broken
  7. Invincible
  8. Rebel Train
  9. Livin´ The Life
  10. Back To Hell
 

Crosson are back with the follow up to their magnificent 2016 release “Spreading the Rock n Roll Disease”. I myself had really high hopes for this album since the previous blew me away big time. But at the same time I know how hard it is to live up to a brilliant album release.

 So I found myself waiting a couple of days until I had the courage to have a listen. It was a very strange feeling when I found myself feeling rather shattered. I felt that the music had lost a little of the Punk energy that I loved on the last one. But at the same time I was taken by the fact that it still sounded so much like “Spreading the Rock n Roll Disease”.

 It might be that it still had the same clever and witty lyrics that brought that album over the top. And maybe, just maybe, the songs is just a little bit better on this one. Not by much, just as much so you know the song writer has grown. Anyway it didn´t take to long until “Invincible” had won me over in a big way just like the previous did.

 I will tell you why. In my head I find soo many references to the 80´s music that I grew up with. It might just my mind that searches for it. It might never have been intended by the band.

 But I really don´t care if it is intended or not. I found them and I love it!!!

 I will give you a few examples. The opening track “Rock Warriors” is packed with lines and titles from classic rock songs. And I immediately thought of the connection to Ace Frehley´s “Rock Soldiers” just by how similar the titles was.

 Then we have “Success Need No Apologies” that instantly brought Phenomena´s “Dance With The Devil” to mind. Actually I got so curious that I had to pick out that album from my CD collection just to see how way off base I was. But I wasn´t, this one could easily been written as a tribute to the classic Phenomena track.

 The last one I will mention here are “Rebel Train”. This is very simple as the line “All Aboard” brings the classic Ozzy song to everyone´s mind. And then it goes “Hey,Hey,Hey” just like Alice´s “Hey Stupid”.

 And this is just a little hint of all the gems that “Invincible” brings you.

 I can quickly mention the three songs that have been released as videos. They are “Never Give Up”, “Unconditional Love” Duet with Jessica Wolff,  and last “Hero”.

 

 If you are familiar with Crosson this is a must have. And if you haven´t heard them, please do. You won´t be disappointed as this is one of the best releases of 2018.

 

 

Label - Metalapolis Records

 

 

 

 

Writer - PETER GRAHN

 

Kommentera inlägget här: